Thursday, June 13, 2024
HomeNorth East India‘Will fulfill public aspirations’: Newly-elected BJP MLAs of Tripura after swearing-in ceremony...

‘Will fulfill public aspirations’: Newly-elected BJP MLAs of Tripura after swearing-in ceremony at Assembly

Newly elected BJP legislators Bindu Debnath and Tafajjal Hossain were sworn in at a special ceremony held at the lobby of the state legislative assembly building on Tuesday.

The MLAs were administered the oath of office by Assembly Speaker Biswabandhu Sen at a ceremony where Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha, members of his cabinet Agartala Mayor Dipak Majumder and senior officials were in attendance.

Speaking to reporters after they were sworn in, Boxanagar MLA Tafajjal Hossain said, “I have taken the oath of office here to work for the people of my constituency. My aim will be to make my constituency the best in the state. Development in the constituency was stalled in the last 25 years of Left rule in the area. The CM has assured to give all possible help in fulfilling public aspirations in the area. I shall fulfill all necessary works to ensure drinking water, road connectivity, health services and public amenities in the coming 4.5 years of my tenure.”

Dhanpur MLA Bindu Debnath said he will work steadfastly in his new role as an elected public representative to fulfill public aspirations in his area.

Also Read | As BJP wins Dhanpur and Boxanagar, Tripura CM Saha says ‘politics of appeasement’ is over

“My focus will be on education, road connectivity and education. The former chief minister (Manik Sarkar) was elected several times from Dhanpur but in reality, they (communists) exploited the area and people there were left to remain backward. The erstwhile Left government failed to fulfill the aspirations of the people. The development deserved by people was not ushered in at Dhanpur. I am confident of working to fulfill the aspirations of the people. All works can’t be fulfilled but I shall give my 100 per cent,” he said.

Most Read 1Chandrayaan-3 mission: Dawn breaks on Moon, all eyes on lander, rover to wake up 2As Indo-Canadian relations sour, anxiety grips Indian students, residents who wish to settle in Canada 3Karan Johar says Sanjay Leela Bhansali did not call him after Rocky Aur Rani: ‘He’s never called me but…’ 4Gadar 2 box office collection day 40: Hit by Shah Rukh Khan’s Jawan onslaught, Sunny Deol movie ends BO run with Rs 45 lakh earning 5Shubh’s tour in India cancelled: Why is the Canada-based singer facing the music?

Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha said the BJP had 32 MLAs and the by-polls were necessitated due to the resignation of Union Minister of State for Social Empowerment and Justice Pratima Bhoumik from Dhanpur where she had won and due to the death of CPI(M) MLA of Boxanagar constituency Shamshul Haque who passed away earlier this year.

“We have 33 MLAs in the House now and 34 MLAs support our government, including one MLKA from our alliance partner IPFT. I am confident the new legislators will play their role in the assembly to fulfill aspirations of people from their constituencies who reposed their faith in them,” the CM said.

Notably, Debnath, who contested against his college friend Kaushik Chanda at Dhanpur, secured 30,017 votes and won with a margin of 18,871 votes above the CPI(M) candidate who secured 11,146 votes.

Also Read2 months after stepping down as Tipra Motha chief, Pradyot now in party’s…Pradyot Kishore meets home ministry officials over demands, asks tribals …Result to fill up Group-C posts announced, Tripura govt says 430 position…Tripura man held with illegal firearms from railway station; was on way t…

Hossain secured 34,146 votes at Boxanagar constituency and won with a margin of 30,237 votes above his nearest contestant and CPI(M) candidate Mizan Hossain, who secured 3,909 votes.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular