Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomeCitiesAssembly elections: Telangana has 3.06 crore eligible voters, including 4.7 lakh young...

Assembly elections: Telangana has 3.06 crore eligible voters, including 4.7 lakh young electors

Telangana has 3.06 crore voters eligible to participate in the upcoming Assembly elections, the office of the Chief Electoral Officer said Monday.

Releasing the draft electoral roles, CEO Vikas Raj said that there are 3,06,42,333 eligible voters in the state as of date. He added that the draft roll for the second Special Summary Revision (SSR) was published in all 119 Assembly Constituencies on 21st August 2023, and said claims and objections from voters can be filed till September 19, 2023.

As per the draft roll, there are 1,53,73,066 male voters, 1,52,51,797 female voters and 2,133 voters belonging to the third gender. There are 2,742 NRI electors and 15,337 service electors in the electoral roll, in addition to 3,06,26,996 general electors. The number of young electors in the age group of 18-19 stands at 4,76,597, the CEO said.

Most Read 1Chandrayaan-3 mission: Dawn breaks on Moon, all eyes on lander, rover to wake up 2As Indo-Canadian relations sour, anxiety grips Indian students, residents who wish to settle in Canada 3Karan Johar says Sanjay Leela Bhansali did not call him after Rocky Aur Rani: ‘He’s never called me but…’ 4Gadar 2 box office collection day 40: Hit by Shah Rukh Khan’s Jawan onslaught, Sunny Deol movie ends BO run with Rs 45 lakh earning 5Shubh’s tour in India cancelled: Why is the Canada-based singer facing the music?

Among the segments, Serilingampally and Quthbullapur have the highest number of electors at 6.62 lakh and 6.39 lakh, respectively, while Bhadrachalam and Aswaraopet have the lowest number of voters with 1.44 lakh and 1.5 lakh, respectively.

As of the previous SSR 2023 with January 1, 2023 as the qualifying date, the final roll published on January 5, 2023, had 2,99,77,659 electors. The CEO said about 8,31,520 additions were made to this while 1,82,183 electors were deleted as per continuous updation of the roll. Across 119 Assembly constituencies, there will be 35,356 polling stations in the upcoming polls.

Also ReadPre-wedding shoot of Hyderabad cop couple goes viral, commissioner cautio…Andhra Pradesh administration to start functioning from Visakhapatnam on …Andhra Pradesh to introduce International Baccalaureate syllabus in govt …Milad-Un-Nabi procession in Hyderabad postponed to October 1 to avoid cla…

People can now submit their claims in prescribed Form-6 to get enrolled as voters, whereas a person whose name has been deleted from the electoral roll wrongfully could file an appeal under Section 24 of the Representation of People’s Act, 1950 within 15 days to the District Election Officer or submit Form-6 any time during this round of summary revision exercise.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular